ANZAMP 6th annual meeting

Name:ANZAMP 6th annual meeting
Calendar:Conferences & meetings
When:Tue, January 30, 2018 - Fri, February 2, 2018


ANZAMP 6th Annual Meeting

Dates: Tuesday 30 January – Thursday 1 February, 2018
Venue: Spencer on Byron Hotel, Takapuna, Auckland NZ.

An additional day, Friday 2nd Feb., will be dedicated to the celebration of the career of Ernie Kalnins (Univ. Waikato).

The Sixth Annual Meeting of the Australian and New Zealand Association of Mathematical Physics will be hosted by the Department of Mathematics of the University of Auckland and held at the Spencer on Byron Hotel in Takapuna, Auckland in New Zealand from 30th January to 1st February, 2018. Takapuna is a central, coastal suburb of Auckland, popular for its beach, shops, cafes and restaurants.

Keynote speakers

The meeting has a tradition of encouraging contributed talks in a wide range of topics in mathematical physics. Especially encouraged are talks from ANZAMP student members who are eligible to compete for the AJ Guttmann student talk prize.

  • The earlybird registration deadline is Wednesday 1 November 2017
  • abstract deadline is Wednesday 15 November 2017.

Please register and book accommodation early. We are holding only a limited number of special rate rooms at the Spencer on Byron.

For further information, including transport and accommodation information, see the conference website:

A.J. Guttmann Prize

This prize ($500) is awarded for the most outstanding talk by a student or recent graduate (PhD completed in the calendar year of the annual meeting) at the Annual Meeting of the Australian and New Zealand Association of Mathematical Physics (ANZAMP). The prize is named in honour of Professor Anthony J. Guttmann, who has been, and continues to be, a leading figure in the mathematical physics community in Australia. Among many distinctions, Tony Guttmann has a distinguished research record in statistical mechanics, was President of the Australian Mathematical Society and was one of the leading figures in the establishment of the Australian Mathematical Sciences Institute. Tony is renowned for the guidance and wisdom he offers to his colleagues and students, and he is a tireless advocate of programs for talented students in mathematical physics, and mathematics more generally.

Program Committee

Local Organising Committee UoA Maths logo

Administration Dodds-Wall logo


Further information

Location:Spencer on Byron Hotel, Takapuna, Auckland NZ Map
Created:01 Aug 2017 02:12 am UTC
Modified:14 Sep 2017 06:24 am UTC
Updated: 14 Sep 2017