Awards of the Society

  • The Australian Mathematical Society Medal — awarded annually since 1981 to a Society member under the age of 40 for distinguished research in the mathematical sciences.
  • The George Szekeres Medal — awarded since 2001 in even numbered years for an outstanding contribution to the mathematical sciences in the fifteen years prior to the year of the award.
  • The ANZIAM Medal — awarded for research achievements, activities enhancing applied or industrial mathematics, or both, and contributions to ANZIAM.
  • The JH Michell Medal — awarded to an outstanding new researcher for distinguished research in applied and/or industrial mathematics.
  • Gavin Brown Best Paper Prize — awarded for an outstanding single article, monograph or book consisting of original research within any area of the mathematical sciences.
  • The Mahler Lectureship — awarded every two years to a distinguished mathematician who preferably works in an area of mathematics associated with the work of Professor Mahler.
  • Alf van der Poorten Travelling Fellowship — awarded in odd numbered years to assist early-career pure mathematicians in travelling in Australia and overseas so that they can enrich their mathematical research through contact with other mathematicians.
  • Lift-off Fellowships — awarded to jump start the careers of early-career mathematicians by supporting them after the submission of their PhD thesis.
  • WIMSIG Cheryl E. Praeger Travel Awards — awarded to provide support for female mathematicians to attend conferences or to visit collaborators.
  • WIMSIG Anne Penfold Street Awards — awarded to provide financial support to mathematicians for their caring responsibilities, while they travel for conferences or research visits to collaborators.
  • The A F Pillow Applied Mathematics Top-up Scholarship — an annual `top-up' scholarship to a student holding either an Australian Postgraduate Award (APA) or equivalent award for full-time research in Applied Mathematics leading to the award of a PhD.
  • The Bernhard Neumann Prize — awarded for the most outstanding talk presented by a student at the Annual Meeting of the Australian Mathematical Society.

Updated: 07 Jul 2015