WIMSIG Conference 2017

Celebration of Women in Australian Mathematical Sciences

  • September 24-26, 2017
  • University of South Australia, Adelaide

Call for Expressions of Interest

For 2017, WIMSIG is organising a Celebration of Women in Australian Mathematical Sciences research conference, showcasing the research of women in the mathematical sciences. This will be the first such conference in Australia. The conference is open to people of any gender, but all the research presentations will be given by women.

"Mathematical sciences" will be broadly interpreted to include pure mathematics, applied mathematics, mathematical statistics, applied statistics, biostatistics, bioinformatics, mathematical biology, mathematical physics, mathematics in industry, etc.

We are planning special sessions, plenary speakers, a poster session, a conference dinner, a panel on gender equity in the mathematical sciences and beyond, and a professional development workshop. Childcare will be available.

WIMSIG believes this conference will play a really important role in advancing gender equity in Australian mathematical sciences. Both female researchers and senior leaders (of any gender) in our discipline will find it eye-opening and inspiring to be in a majority-female research environment, even for a few days; not to mention the development of potential research collaborations, networking, exposure to potential candidates for hiring, etc.

Information about registration and submission of abstracts will be available soon.

Plenary Speakers

Our four plenary speakers span statistics, mathematics in industry, pure mathematics, and applied mathematics.  


Accommodation information can be found here.

Organising Committee

Associate Professor Lesley Ward
University of South Australia
Email: Lesley.Ward@unisa.edu.au

Dr Giang Nguyen
University of Adelaide
Email: Giang.Nguyen@adelaide.edu.au

Associate Professor Catherine Greenhill
The University of New South Wales
Email: c.greenhill@unsw.edu.au

Former member and advisor
Professor Lynn Batten
Deakin University
Email: Lynn.Batten@deakin.edu.au


Ms Sue Tyerman
University of South Australia
Email: ITEE-OUA.Academic.Services@unisa.edu.au

Updated: 14 Apr 2017