Australian Math Society Web Site



Election of Officers and Ordinary Members of Council

Officers of Council: Nominations are invited for the following Officers for the Session commencing after the Annual General Meeting in July 1996:

President, two Vice-Presidents, Secretary, Treasurer.

The present elected Officers of the Society are
President: D.W. Robinson
Vice-Presidents: A.L. Carey, P.J. Stacey
Secretary: D. Elliott
Treasurer: A. Howe.

Note that, according to paragraph 30 of the Constitution, D.W. Robinson is not eligible for re-election as President and P.J. Stacey is not eligible for re-election as Vice-President.

Ordinary Members of Council: The present elected Ordinary Members of Council are:

Accordingly, nominations are invited for three positions as Ordinary Members of Council.

Note that, according to paragraph 30 of the Constitution, E.J. Billington, A.J. Roberts, and I.H. Sloan are not eligible for re-election as Ordinary Members.

To comply with the Constitution, nominations should be signed by two members of the Society and by the nominee who shall also be a member of the Society. Nominations should reach the Secretary (whose name and address appear on the inside cover of the Gazette ) no later than Friday 10 May 1996.

For information of members, the following persons are ex-officio members of the Council for the session 1995-1996.


The Society sponsors Special Interest Meetings on specialist topics at diverse geographical locations around Australia. This activity is seen as a means of generating a stronger professional profile for the Society within the Australian mathematical community, and of stimulating better communication between mathematicians with similar interests who are scattered throughout the country.

These grants are intended for once-off meetings and not for regular meetings. If it is intended to hold regular meetings on a specific subject area, the organizers should consider forming a Special Interest Group of the Society. If there is widespread interest in a subject area, there is also the mechanism for forming a Division within the Society.

Applications for the period January 1997 to June 1998 should reach the Secretary by the closing date 19 July 1996. A further call for applications for the period July 1998 to December 1999 will be made in October 1996.

An application for a grant should be made on a form available from the Secretary, whose name and address appear on the inside front cover of this issue.

The rules governing the approval of grants are as follows.

In consideration of an application, Council will take into account locations around Australia of the various mathematical meetings during the period in question. Preference will be given to Meetings of at least two days' duration. The maximum allocation for any one Meeting will be $2500, with up to $8000 being available in any one calendar year. There will be six-monthly calls for applications for Special Interest Meeting Grants, each to cover a period of eighteen months commencing six months after consideration of applications.


The University of Auckland

Professor Graeme Wake has been appointed to a chair in Industrial and Applied Mathematics at the Tamaki campus.

Dr Phillip Sharp is Head of the Applied & Computational Mathematics Unit.

Prof. Ivan Reilly has been re-appointed as Head of the Mathematics Education Unit.

Dr Alex McNabb has become a Research Fellow in Applied Mathematics at the Tamaki campus.

Professor Marston Conder is now Head of the Department of Mathematics.

Deakin University

Mr Jamie Mustard has moved from the School of Computing and Mathematics to the School of Management Information Systems.

Mr Ross Gollan has retired. Ross began his career as a secondary teacher in the Education Department of Western Australia. He was appointed lecturer in mathematics at the Gordon Institute of Technology in 1969 and senior lecturer at Deakin University in 1977. His main interests have been in the teaching of statistics, both on campus and off-campus and statistical consulting. He plans to continue his consultancy work part time.

Dr Hussein Muttlak, formerly of Yarmouk University in Jordan has been appointed as lecturer. His research interests are in applied statistics.

University of Newcastle

Dr Jacqui Ramagge has been promoted to Lecturer.

University of Queensland

Dr G. Havas has been promoted to Reader in the Department of Computer Science.

Dr H.B. Thompson has been promoted to Associate Professor.

Dr O.D. Jones has joined the Department as a lecturer for the period 1 Feb 1996 to 31 Dec 1996, then as an ARC Senior Research Fellow from 1 Jan 1997 to 31 Jan 1998.

University of Technology, Sydney

Mr Tim Lavers has been appointed as a UTS Insearch Post-Doctoral Fellow in the School of Mathematical Sciences. He will be working with Professor Tony Shannon. Mr Lavers has recently submitted his PhD thesis at the University of Sydney.

University of the South Pacific

Dr Stephen Glasby, formerly of the University of Sydney, has been appointed as Senior Lecturer.


Fellows (FAustMS)
Vo V. Anh, Queensland University of Technology
R.J. Hosking, James Cook University
K.L. McAvaney, Deakin University
B.J. Noye, University of Adelaide

Accredited Member (MAustMS)
I.R. Doust, University of New South Wales

Graduate Member (GAustMS)
J.P. Morgan, Yangebup, WA

The Australian Mathematical Society Gazette is Copyright by the Australian Mathematical Society. Any enquiries about this electronic version of the Gazette should be sent to